Main Menu

The Seven Sacred Laws

Buy Tickets

For the month of June, the Canadian Museum of History’s CINÉ+ presents the colourful and imaginative animated film, The Seven Sacred Laws. Follow a young boy on an Indigenous rite of passage: a vision quest. Through his spiritual journey, he meets seven animals, each revealing a foundational value of Indigenous culture: Buffalo tells him how the essence of respect is the act of giving. Eagle, how to always act in love. Bear encourages him to listen to his heart, while Sabe (Bigfoot) to speak from it. Beaver teaches him to create a more peaceful world, and Wolf to be thankful. Finally, Turtle says that to live the Seven Teachings is to live in truth.

Using music and beautiful animation, The Seven Sacred Laws leaves audiences enlightened and more knowledgeable about Indigenous foundational values and beliefs. The film is presented in English, French and Anishinaabemowin.

Written by the late Anishinaabe Elder and Honorary Doctor of Laws, David Courchene, The Seven Sacred Laws was directed by Indigenous filmmaker Erica Daniels of Peguis First Nation, and created by Manitoba’s Peg City Pictures Inc. It was created in partnership with The Turtle Lodge International Centre for Indigenous Education and Wellness in Sagkeeng First Nation and IG Wealth Management.

Dates & Times
English French
Tuesday, October 4, 2022
10:00 a.m., 3:00 p.m.
10:30 a.m.
Wednesday, October 5, 2022
10:00 a.m., 3:00 p.m.
10:30 a.m.
Thursday, October 6, 2022
10:00 a.m., 3:00 p.m.
10:30 a.m.
Friday, October 7, 2022
10:00 a.m., 3:00 p.m.
10:30 a.m.
Saturday, October 8, 2022
12:30 p.m.
1:00 p.m.
Sunday, October 9, 2022
12:30 p.m.
1:00 p.m.
Tuesday, October 11, 2022
10:30 a.m., 12:00 p.m.
10:00 a.m., 2:30 p.m.
Wednesday, October 12, 2022
10:30 a.m., 12:00 p.m.
10:00 a.m., 2:30 p.m.
Thursday, October 13, 2022
10:30 a.m., 12:00 p.m.
10:00 a.m., 2:30 p.m.
Friday, October 14, 2022
10:30 a.m., 12:00 p.m.
10:00 a.m., 2:30 p.m.