Main Menu

A Victorian Portrait Studio: March Break at the Museum

Buy Tickets

Get in the picture this March Break.

In conjunction with the exhibition Notman, Visionary Photographer, connect with the history of photography this March Break. Before today’s Photoshop techniques and Instagram filters, a Victorian photographer had to make hundreds of careful decisions when creating a lasting portrait. Inside a replica of William Notman’s Montréal studio — complete with costumes, furniture and props — create and take home your own portrait. Or explore one of the earliest versions of moving pictures by making your own thaumatrope. Suitable for families with children ages 6 and up.

Photo: greggsphoto

Dates & Times
English French
Saturday, March 2, 2019
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Sunday, March 3, 2019
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Monday, March 4, 2019
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Thursday, March 7, 2019
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Friday, March 8, 2019
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Saturday, March 9, 2019
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Sunday, March 10, 2019
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Monday, March 11, 2019
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.