Until their entry into the Canadian Confederation, established in 1867, the Canadian colonies had their own postage stamps. Nova Scotia and New Brunswick issued their first stamp in 1851. Between 1861 and 1872, Prince Edward Island issued thirteen stamps, all featuring Queen Victoria but with differences in characteristics such as the denomination and perforation.

Newfoundland continued to issue its own stamps until 1949. It was the last colony to join the Confederation.

= Additional information

Frame 29


Frame 29