Main Menu

Handmade Fun: Corn Husk Dolls

Buy Tickets

Celebrate the fall harvest by making your own corn husk doll and learning about the Indigenous cultures in which the dolls originated.

Corn husk dolls, a symbol of the harvest, originated in Indigenous cultures where corn was a staple crop. The husks were put to good use lighting lamps, filling pillows, and making baskets, masks, arrow quivers, ceremonial dolls and more. Children ages 3 to 7 can make a corn husk doll while learning some cultural history — including the Haudenosaunee legend about a doll that came to life to entertain children, but spent so much time admiring herself that she lost her face.

This program may be pre-empted by a special event.

Image: Gino Santa Maria

Dates & Times
English French
Monday, October 15, 2018
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Thursday, October 18, 2018
10:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
10:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Friday, October 19, 2018
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Saturday, October 20, 2018
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Sunday, October 21, 2018
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Monday, October 22, 2018
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.