Main Menu

Dig and Dive into Archaeology

Buy Tickets

Explore the secrets of archaeology on land and at sea in hands-on learning adventures inspired by the lost Franklin Expedition.

During Archaeology Month, join Parks Canada experts and Museum interpreters for hands-on learning adventures inspired by Death in the Ice – The Mystery of the Franklin Expedition. In Underwater Archaeology try some of the scientific equipment used to find the wrecks of HMS Erebus and Terror, search for artifacts buried in sand, and chart your discoveries. Look for clues in traditional Inuit stories, Franklin’s original orders from the British Admiralty, and handwritten notes and charts. In Terrestrial Archaeology dig up the past and explore the similarities and differences between archaeology on land and at sea. These activities are for archaeology buffs, Franklin enthusiasts, and families with children ages 8 and up.

Image: Parks Canada

Please note that this activity will be held in the Main Lobby from August 10 to 12 and August 17 to 19. Starting August 23, it will be held in the Haida Gwaii Mezzanine.

Dates & Times
English French
Friday, August 3, 2018
9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Saturday, August 4, 2018
9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Sunday, August 5, 2018
9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Friday, August 10, 2018
9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Saturday, August 11, 2018
9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Sunday, August 12, 2018
9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Friday, August 17, 2018
9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Saturday, August 18, 2018
9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Sunday, August 19, 2018
9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Friday, August 24, 2018
9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.