Main Menu

Playing Through History

Buy Tickets

Enjoy some family fun with games for kids and adults, inspired by the much-anticipated Canadian History Hall.

From tiny tots to adults everyone loves to play. These special, all-ages March Break activities explore the evolution of play, inspired by the future Canadian History Hall’s three signature galleries: Early Canada (up to 1763), Colonial Canada (1763–1914) and Modern Canada (1914 and later). Discover traditional First Peoples games such as ring-and-pin, string games, lahal, and hand-shadow puppets. Try skittles, and see how the game has changed from the version popular in New France. Help decorate a large, Victorian-style dollhouse, make your own doll to take home, and try colonial toys such as a Jacob’s ladder, jacks, and spin-tops. Visit the Discovery Zone for a selection of innovative new games, Mega Bloks® building projects, play workshops, and more. The Canadian Children’s Museum is offering additional play-themed activities during March Break.

Photos:

  • SPIN Jeux et Activations
  • PsychoShadow
  • Nielskliim
  • angelo gilardelli
Dates & Times
English French
Saturday, February 25, 2017
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Sunday, February 26, 2017
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Monday, February 27, 2017
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Tuesday, February 28, 2017
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Wednesday, March 1, 2017
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Thursday, March 2, 2017
10:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
10:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Friday, March 3, 2017
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Saturday, March 4, 2017
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Sunday, March 5, 2017
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Saturday, March 11, 2017
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.